ALL DEVILS ALL DEVILS

First Steps With LMMS

I recently decided to start recording some of the songs I make with my acoustic guitar. The problem is that with my current setup anything I record sounds like shit.

I decided to get around this problem by using a DAW (Digital Audio Workstation) aka LMMS. It’s open source, like most software I use, and - more importantly - free.

It’s got a lot more tools than just recording input. It comes with samples that you can use right out the box and plenty of ways to manipulate them so that you can get the unique sound you’re after.

For example, MeowSynth! Although LMMS doesn’t come with it straight out the box MeowSynth is a free to use VST (Virtual Studio Technology) that synthesises a real cat’s meow. I used it in the first track I ever made. It’s very simple but I’m proud of it.

I’ll continue to post any cool tracks I make, even if it means kissing goodbye my invitation to the 1mb club.

#personal   #music